Former NFL Player Reggie Bush Gets His Heisman Trophy Back

Former NFL Player Reggie Bush Gets His Heisman Trophy Back

( – On April 24, Reggie Bush, a former player for the University of Southern California (USC) and the NFL, received his reinstated Heisman Trophy. Bush forfeited his trophy in 2010 due to the compensation he received for his involvement in student athletics, which was banned at the time.

The Heisman Trust, which oversaw the forfeiture, had recently deliberated on college athletic changes over the years. They determined that the NCAA, in 2021, changed the rules to concede that the practice of compensating student athletes for their image, name, and likeness was acceptable.

In a ceremony, the Heisman Trust presented Bush with his 2005 Heisman Trophy, and the reinstatement became official. The reinstatement included sending a trophy replica to USC for display. It also means that Bush will now receive an invitation to be a part of all future ceremonies for the Heisman Trophy, including the 2024 season.

In a statement, Bush expressed his delight at rejoining his fellow winners and acknowledged the honor of inheriting the Heisman Trophy legacy. He anticipates the ability to advance the mission and the values that the Heisman Trust represents.

The Heisman Trust president, Michael Comerford, stated that the Trust and fellow recipients of the trophy are pleased to welcome him back. The Heisman family recognizes his accomplishments during his football career at USC. He said that it was the proper time to reinstate Bush’s trophy and welcome his presence in their family.

In his 2005 season at USC, Bush scored touchdowns 18 times, gained over 2,000 yards, and received the fifth-place record for votes (784), placing him as the best in the trophy’s history. He led the USC football team to that year’s national title.

Johnny Manziel, a former star of the Texas A&M team, posted a message on social media after the reinstatement ceremony on April 14, thanking the Heisman Trust for bringing back such a notable player in college football history to their membership.

Copyright 2024,